jump to navigation

Coffee and Pregnancy December 18, 2008

Posted by Tori in Coffee, Moms, Pregnancy.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This blog is obviously titled for a mom that has a serious need for coffee. And I do, trust me. I’ve also had several search hits on coffee in the third trimester, coffee in the second trimester,  and coffee and pregnancy. I thought I might do a post on some of the recent research on coffee consumption during pregnancy.

Let me just say that my caffeine addiction is such that there was no way I was giving up all my coffee. In both of my pregnancies, I cut down on the amount of caffeine I consumed and in my most recent pregnancy, I couldn’t drink more than a couple of small cups, even the decaff stuff, because my stomach did not like the acid.

While I was pregnant, a couple of new studies came out regarding caffeine consumption. The first study linked caffeine consumption to miscarriage. In this study there the conclusion that 200mg or more of caffeine a day raises the risk of miscarriage.  But there is a dissenting voice in this article that says the evidence just isn’t there. A second study links caffeine consumption to fetal growth restriction. This article shows that those who consume more than 200mg of caffeine daily had an increased risk for fetal growth restriction.

Reading both articles, I find the results only semi-conclusive. However, for pregnancy, I follow the moderation method of things. I still consumed my daily coffee, only in lesser amounts. I given birth to two healthy girls, 7lbs 3oz and 7lbs 11oz, respectively. So, the biggest factor is to look at the research, and decide what method works best for you. I knew I couldn’t survive the caffeine withdrawal headaches, so I just reduced my consumption and made my own half-caf blend of my favorite coffee.

Comments»

1. Dawn - December 20, 2008

:) TJ, Couldn’t agree more on the studies being inconclusive. In an odd stroke of irony, that first study came out the DAY I discovered I was pregnant!!

I cut back significantly (from 5 cups a day to one) during pregnancy, with none in the first trimester because it made me feel sick(er.)

I still drink less coffee, mainly becuase i don’t have as much of an opportunity to enjoy hot beverages with the little one in my arms. And what I do drink? I’ve now learned to enjoy my caffeine hit lukewarm. LOL

2. tjwriter - January 2, 2009

Sorry for the late response, it’s been crazy around here!

And I definitely feel you on the lukewarm thing. I’ve had to adjust my abilities to cope with less than hot foods and beverages.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

