jump to navigation

Toddled April 10, 2008

Posted by Tori in Moms, Time Management, Toddlers.
Tags: ,
trackback

Lately, I’ve been toddled. You know, that insane feeling where your toddler leaves you frazzled and raw at the end of the day?

I think Piper is going through some sort of developmental spurt because she’s been driving us batty. She’s extra fussy and into everything, acting like a wild child. Not to mention that our routine has shot the crapper in a variety of ways.

For starters:

  1. It seems like I get home later and later every day. I don’t know why, but it doesn’t matter what I do, dinner’s never ready until 8:00. I don’t really get to spend time with my daughter or my husband.
  2. My husband’s cousin and her husband live next door to us, and they visit almost every day. Which I don’t mind that much, but it makes it hard it hard to get a consistent routine together and get my daughter in quiet, non-stimulating environment to get ready to go to sleep.
  3. She’s usually so wound up, she ends up going to our bed and not her own. It’s the only way to get her to quiet down and fall asleep. Not to mention that I want to go to bed at a decent hour, as I have to get up early and I tend to get home late.

Our situation has been less than desirable lately, and I’m trying to think of ways to make this better. I’d like to get my husband more involved in some of the evening activities. We’re going to have to sit down and plan everything out. Piper needs a better and more solid routine. I hope we can figure something out soon because we all need to get ourselves in order.

Comments»

1. Julie - June 18, 2008

Due on the same day and with blogs that are spookily close in name.

Weird…

And yes, I so understand about being Toddled, only the Toddle and his sister both get me going all before their sister gets home.

Try taking her to her room and having a quiet time with her. Reading books, rolling a ball, rocking on your lap, darn near anything quiet and relaxing. baby massage will still work with a toddler. I use this, along with water sounds on a cd. Rain and waves work well because they lull to sleep and privide white noise.

Designate a time for visitors. Be firm and explain why.

I’m going through this, too, so I’m working my way through these suggestions as well. I may have a ton of kids, but they’re all different and nothing works just right for everyone. I wish you a lot of luck!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

